Crossfit Games Open 13.1

This morning was my first Crossfit Games Open workout.  The anxiety that I felt yesterday waiting for the workout to be released is almost comical.  I refreshed the Crossfit Games website every 10 seconds at 5pm to make sure I got it right away and didn’t miss anything.  Honestly all I wanted was a workout that I didn’t have to modify anything.  I can’t do muscle ups or double unders but mostly anything else I can deal with… well anything but burpees.  I hate burpees, but who doesn’t?!

Here is the workout (The men’s weight is on the left, women’s weight is on the right)…

Open Workout 13.1
17 minute AMRAP of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, 75 / 45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, 135 / 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, 165 / 100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, 210 / 120 lbs

Seeing as how I’ve only snatched 75# twice in my life, and both times were on Monday I was just hoping to get through 5 of them for a total score of 105.

We partnered up in class and went in two heats so that we could judge each other and my friend Carrie went before me.  Her PR on Monday was 80# as well.  I watched her fly through the burpees and snatches, she got them up one after another and made it look so easy.  She got through all of the 75# snatches and had time to complete the next set of 20 burpees with 5 seconds to spare, for a total score of 150!  I thought, ok maybe I can do this… maybe I can get higher than 105.

Then it was my turn.  I hate burpees- did I mention that?  40 burpees, at one time?  That blows.  The 45# snatches were not too bad- then it’s back to more burpees… I was doing them pretty slow at this point.  I got to the 75# snatches with about 10 minutes left on the clock.  I can do 30 snatches in 10 minutes right?  NOPE!  I tried about 5-10 times and couldn’t get it over my head.  I was SO frustrated and thought, ok I’m not even going to hit my 105 goal.  Carrie was cheering me on and Joe came over and told me to PULL harder.  I did.  And I got it!  After that I think I only failed on one or two after that, I got through 14 of them before the time was up.

Am I happy I beat my goal?  Of course… but my goal was too low.  I could have done better.  I should have done better.  If I hadn’t wasted so much time in the beginning not pulling hard enough, I might have gotten 5-10 more in.

I know my scores aren’t going to compare to half the girls out there competing around the world but there is something about doing something like this that makes you push yourself beyond what you would do on a normal day.

OCCF is doing the open wod again on Saturday.  I have a really busy day and I’m afraid it’s going to be an all day event and I won’t have time.  BUT I really want to beat my score.  I’m realizing now that I should have made time on the next 5 Saturdays for re-dos.

Here are some pics of my 13.1 workout!

image (7)image (6)imageimage (1)image (2)

If I had known this was a “take your shirt off kind of day” I would have worn my pink sports bra.  Ugh.

5 thoughts on “Crossfit Games Open 13.1

  1. Girl, that is an AWESOME score! Given that the 75# was your max only Monday, you should be SO proud. I’m doing 13.1 tomorrow and you’ve totally inspired me to push for those 75# snatches.

    • Thank you!!! 🙂 80 was actually my max on Monday but I did 75 right before that and that was my first time hitting 75! Just read your blog- I love that you guys take a day to prepare for it! Hopefully you are feeling good!! Coincidentally we did 1rm snatch on Monday and also did snatches yesterday so I got a little preparation! Give it all you have and try your hardest for those 75# snatches!!!

  2. I just read the WOD for my box today and we are doing the same!! I am not competing in the open but I am still going to give it a go! You did awesome, I don’t even know if I will get past the 40 burpees!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

