I can cook non-paleo too :)

Dad was over for dinner last night again, the pressure is ON when he is over!  He wants something good for dinner and will not be afraid to let you know it’s not up to his standards!!!!

I cooked some beef in the crockpot all day using stew meat, El Pato red enchilada sauce, a onion and a can of green chilies.  I usually put my meat in the crockpot frozen because I’m too lazy to plan my meals far enough in advance to defrost everything, so I usually cook it for 2 hours longer than normal.  If this had been defrosted, I would have done 7-8 hours, so frozen I cooked it on low for 10 hours.

Once I came home, I shredded the beef, warmed up some refried beans and tortillas and shredded some cheese.  I took out my pan, put a layer of enchilada sauce from my crockpot and then started with the enchiladas.  I laid out a warm flour tortilla, lined it with beans, and filled it up with the beef and cheese.  Once all of the enchiladas were in the pan, I topped it with some more enchilada sauce and cheese.  I baked it for about 20 minutes on 350, then broiled it for about two minutes (uncovered).  Voila!

photo (9)

Dad said it was the best meal I’ve ever cooked for him! 🙂

I always make leftovers for Dean and I to have lunch the next day.  As good as they were, neither of us wanted to eat the fatty enchiladas for lunch.  So, when I was making the enchiladas, I set aside some beef and threw some cauliflower into the food processor to make some rice!  And now we have created a leftover paleo lunch out of a not-so-paleo dinner!!!  Yay!!!!

 

2 thoughts on “I can cook non-paleo too :)

  1. So dad got the leftovers for lunch the next day. It was so good I could not wait for lunch, had it for breakfast instead. Rice?

Leave a Reply

