My beet journey.

I used to hate cilantro.  Actually hate is an understatement!  Now, I love it!  I make cilantro pesto, I put it on my tacos, I love it!  It was not an easy journey to get to my love for cilantro… it wasn’t even an easy journey to get to toleration of it.

A few years ago, I saw this video on youtube by GloZell Green..  If you guys have never seen any of her videos, check her out.  She is pretty hilarious.  This video is all about how she hates cilantro and if you eat something seven times, you will like it!  I don’t know about the number seven being the lucky number but some things definitely are an acquired taste.

Anyways, I’m sitting in my office right now with a container of beets.  It’s just me and the beets in here.  One of us is going to win this battle.  It’s my third time eating beets, the first two times I cooked the beets at home myself.  This time, I bought them in the cafeteria at work.  There’s A LOT more than seven bites… I’m hoping to love them by bite number 3, but that is highly unlikely.  I’m pretty sure I won’t get much further than seven bites, and the reactions that you saw in GloZell’s video above is pretty much spot on for what is going on inside my office right now.  Thank God I have a door… 🙂

Why do beets have to be soooooooo good for you and taste so disgusting at the same time????

If anyone has a delicious beet recipe, please feel free to pass it my way because I am determined to like them.

photo (10)

Leave a Reply

